January 2017 - Meeting

Image result for Sergiu Celibidache
Sergiu Celibidache

Programme for Wednesday 4th January 2017

                     Presenters: Jim Bruce & T. Donovan

1.      Anton Bruckner (1824-1896): Mass No. 3 in F minor for soloists, chorus and orchestra in F minor (III. Credo. Et incarnatus est) - Peter Straka, tenor; Matthias Holle, bass; Munich Philharmonic Choir & Orchestra, cond. Sergiu Celibidache (10:55) This includes a clip from the rehearsal.
2.      Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849): Scherzo No. 2 in B flat minor – Murray Perahia, piano (10:03) A live performance from Perahia’s 2015 Japanese tour.
3.      Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953): Alexander Nevsky, film score (The Battle on the Ice. April 5, 1242 “Peregrinus expectavi”) -  Chorus of St. Petersburg Teleradio Company; St. Petersburg Chamber Choir; St. Petersburg Chorus "Lik"; St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, cond. Yuri Temirkanov (7:23) A clip from Eisenstein’s 1938 film merged with a recent recording of the score.
4.      Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major, H. 7b/1 (ii. Adagio) – Steven Isserlis, cello; Norwegian Chamber Orchestra, leader: Anthony Marwood (14:37) Includes an interview with Isserlis.
5.      Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915):  Le Poème de l'extase (Poem of Ecstasy), Symphony No. 4 in C major, Op 54, Extract.-  Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra; cond. Kirill Petrenko (2:41)

6.      Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827):  Leonore Overture No. 3 in C major, Op. 72b Rehearsal; American Symphony Orchestra; cond. Leopold Stokowski (11:06)

7.      Georges Bizet (1838-1875):  Carmen: Act Two: Flower Song: la fleur que tu m'avais jetée- Jussi Björling (Tenor) (3:51)

8.      Traditional American Folk Song (19th Century): Shenandoah-Chanticleer (Musical ensemble)  (4:30)

9.      Vincenzo Bellini (1801-1835):  Norma: Act 1: Casta Diva – Maria Callas (Soprano); Orchestra and Choir of Paris Opera; cond. George Prêtre (5:12)

10.    Igor Stravinsky (1882-1871): The Rite of Spring,  Animated Graphical Score - Jay Bacal performed and rendered this piece using virtual instrument software by Vienna Symphonic Library. Stephen Malinowski created the animation using his Music Animation Machine (MAM) software.  (15:21)


December 2016 - Meeting

Programme for Wednesday 7th December 2016

Presenter: Bernard Clarke

Image result for george enescu
George Enescu

1.      Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901): Joan of Arc Sinfonia: – La Scala Philharmonic Orchestra; cond. Riccardo Chailly (7:10)

2.      Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901): La traviata: Act 1 Prelude: – La Scala Philharmonic Orchestra; cond. Riccardo Chailly (3:48)

3.      Michael Praetorius (1571-1621): In Dulce Jubilo – Taverner Consort, Choir and Players; cond. Andrew Parrott (3:56)

4.      George Enescu (1881-1955): Roumanian Rhapsody No. 1, Op. 11- London Symphony Orchestra; cond. Antal Dorati (12:02)

5.      Enrique Granados (1867-1916): Goyescas: Intermezzo- London Symphony Orchestra; cond. Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos (5:00e)

6.      George Frideric Handel (1685-1759): Saul: Chorus; How Excellent Thy Name, O Lord; Air: An infant rais’d; Chorus; Along the monster atheist strode; Chorus: The youth inspir’d by thee, O Lord; Chorus: How excellent thy name, O Lord; – Gabrieli Consort & Players; cond. Paul McCreesh (10:00)


Contact us...

Your name:
Your EMAIL address:
How did you first hear about us?
Please type your query or comment here. We will respond by email as soon as possible.

Create a web form here